Lushy Cum Laude [ April 25, 2005, 1:21 pm ]

I learned an important lesson this weekend....

Four glasses of wine plus a big dinner plus jumping around screaming to 80s music does not a good combination make.

You'd think they'd put that warning on wine bottles.

For the record, though, I did not puke. I nearly did, but I didn't. So ha! Ha!ha!Haa! I'm all proud of that accomplishment.

This weekend I spent doing, um, nothing. I worked Friday and then slept for the rest of the night. It was really kind of pathetic how low-key and sleep-ridden my Friday was. Apparently I needed it though. Saturday I wanted to go furniture shopping. But my motivation levels? They lacked a bit. Or a lot. So absolutely nothing got accomplished on Saturday. Unless you count watching Cirque du Soleil and figure skating all afternoon. I lead such a cool life.

Last night, though, there was a dinner party among my closest friends. There was lots of wine and lots of good food. My friends are fuckin' culinary geniuses. Everything was so freakin' good. It was a great time. I don't think I'll ever drink that much wine EVER again though. I'm not that much of a wine girl to begin with. Get a glass of white wine in me, though and I'll be shouting "girthy!" until I pass out.

I am such a lush.

Something that's not lushy, though? Conversations with my mom. Good GOD this woman is driving me insane. She's asked me at LEAST half a dozen times what my degree is in and all of the details that go with it. She's known since I was accepted to NMU that I was a PR major--why she keeps forgetting now is beyond me. It's driving me nuts.

Mom: what's your degree in again?
Me: (not even attempting to be patient anymore) Public. Relations. With a writing minor.
Mom: You have a writing minor?!?
Me: Are you my mother? Where have you been for the past five years?
Mom: (ignoring me) and are you graduating with honors? Or no?
Me: Gaah! Yes, I'm graduating cum laude.
Mom: Well, I thought that you weren't.
Me: No, I am. I wanted to graduate magna cum laude, but I'm not.
Mom: well you're graduating cum laudededaday so that's good.

remind me not to call my mom until the day before I graduate.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design