Trying to Find a Way [ July 23, 2006, 10:20 pm ]

"Really. UGH! What the HELL are we supposed to do?!?"

Nights that are full of drunken debauchery (see last entry) usually end in drunken conversation. Last night was no exception. After a fruitless phone call that ended in frustration because my friend and I wouldn't agree to a threesome (note to guys: never suggest these; girls think that even the idea of them are skeezy. We will not agree to them. That is all.) the topic turned to the topic to begin and end all topics: guys.

Really, the topic is always, in some way, shape or form about guys. We're girls; we're hard-wired to think about guys. (Mainly because we're baffled by the way they act and think...or don't think, really.) Specifically we were talking about finding a good guy. We all want a good guy--the guy who'll bring us ice cream after a hard day or give us a backrub just because or cuddle with no strings attached. But we don't know how.

There's always the bar. But the guys at the bar only want one thing. And unfortunately for them (and maybe for me) I'm not about to give anything up after a drink and a dance or two. The bar is not a quality place to meet a good guy.

There's online dating. I had high hopes for that when I moved; I figured it'd be a decent way to start conversations and maybe a relationship. Unfortunately for me, the guys on the sites I'm on either only want sex or they have baggage that I'm not ready for (ie: former marriages or children or both). While I consider myself to be an open-minded girl, I've learned from experience (mainly by the experience of observing friends' relationships) that I don't want to date a divorce' or daddy. I don't want my boyfriend to have baggage, I want to be someone's baggage.

Barring bars and online dating, I'm out of ideas. Those are the two ways that most people seem to meet and find their paths to bliss. Neither seem to be working very well for me. And I'm not the kind of girl to just approach a guy at the grocery store to score a date, so unless some kind of fairy godmother or cupid figure beams Mr. Right to me via Aisle 8 of a store, finding a guy during my ordinary day-to-day doings probably is out of the question.

This leaves me...in purgatory? Nowhere? Hopeless? While I wouldn't say that my friends and I aren't necessarily despairing at this point in our lives, we don't exactly know where to go from here. We know what doesn't work, which is part of the battle (or fun, depending on how you look at it). Now we need to find something that works. What that is, I have no idea.

What I do know is that I'm craving something real. I want an attraction, but more important that that, I want a connection. How it'll happen, I don't know. But I'm more than a bit eager to find out...

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design