My Mind's Already There... [ March 03, 2005, 1:54 am ]

So in basically eight and a half hours, I'll be departing for Chicago. After a 7-hour road trip, Ryan and I will get to O'Hare and *fingers crossed* we won't have a lot of trouble getting through customs.

Oh. My. Lord. This is really happening, isn't it?

Here's the basics of the trip, because I'm sure you all are dying to know.

Arriving:
We'll arrive after a red-eye flight at 11 London time (which means it'll be about 5 a.m. here in Marquette). We can't check into our hotel until 2 pm, but we're hoping that they'll take pity on us or be scared of our hagrid appearances and let us into our rooms early so we can, um, shower and look normal. (I'll be sure to take pix of how fabulous we both look when we arrive.)

Hotel:
Ryan found a cute hotel near the Kensington area. Which means we're by Notting Hill, Portobello Road and not too far from the palaces, but it's not completely conducive to the touristy things. Oh well. We plan on investing in subway (tube) passes for the entire time we're there.

Plans:
Soooo...we tried to plan an itinerary. Really we did. Then we'd start leafing through the guide and end up squealing. We have time in the airport tomorrow to plan. Thus far, we know we're taking a double-decker bus tour on Friday to familiarize ourself with the city. And Saturday we're going to Portobello Road. And we plan on drinking lots of tea. And,um, lots of adult beverages at the pubs and clubs we'll visit. That's as far as our planning got. (And even that took a few hours.)

Tuesday:
Again--no clue what we're doing during the day. But at night? It'll be fabulous. Because I booked us tickets to see Phantom of the Opera. Heck yes I did! How excited am I? Oooh, just a bit.

Wednesday:
Ryan and I are freakin' cul. tured. We're going to the symphany on Wednesday night. It should be nice--I've never been to a symphany concert before.

Thursday:
Paris! PARIS!!! Need I say more? Except I have to wake up hella early to catch the train. But it'll be worth it to see the Eiffle Tower, Notre Dame and Moulin Rouge.

Coming Back:
We fly back on Saturday the 12th. We'll be back in Chicago around 5. We're crashing at a hotel and driving back the next day. Pray that my jet lag isn't too bad. Ugh.

That's my Spring Break in a nutshell. I solemnly swear to take lots of pictures and journal (at least with pen!) a lot so that I'll remember every detail of the trip.

Have a fabulous week!

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design