Listilicious! [ June 05, 2008, 6:49 pm ]

My brain can't function properly once Michigan realizes it's summer and the warmth and humidity kicks in. Thus, a list of random thoughts I've had in the past couple days...

- I went to my internship yesterday wearing two different shoes. I wish I was kidding, but no. I have to pairs of black Mary-Jane-looking shoes that kind of look alike when you're rushing in the morning and you haven't had any caffeine. Therefore, two different shoes. What's even sadder is that I didn't realize it until 3 p.m. But maybe! Maybe if I didn't realize it until 3 nobody else noticed it all day. Maybe.

- I am in love with Gelato. How have I not known about this stuff all my life? It is creamy and delicious and a scoop of heaven with a waffle piece on the side! Oh. My. God! Amazing! Seriously, HOW did I not know about this stuff before now? Fwaaah.

- Also on my obsession list? My Big Redneck Wedding on CMT. I know I shouldn't like it because it totally makes fun of a sub-culture of America and it's really insensitive and Tom Arnold is sarcastic (which isn't always bad) and sexist (which is), but I can't help it. It's hilarious! In a way it reminds me of some of the people back in the U.P., but more than that rednecks are just hilarious! Who else would make an arch consisting of Christmas lights and Bud Light cans and explose groom cakes? I think why I really like it, though, is because despite the shenanigans of the hillbillies, you can tell that--for the most part--love and devotion is at the heart of these unions. A wedding is a wedding no matter if there's rosebuds or Bud Light bouquets at the reception.

- I'm going to say this next thing and mean it with every ounce of strength that I have: do. Not. Let. Me. Into. Bookstores. I mean it! No more! No more Barnes and Noble! No more Schulers! No more Borders! No more of any of them! It's terrible for my wallet. I can't go into one without spending at least $20. Normally this wouldn't be bad, but I have no sources of income this summer so really, unless I find some random rich person who wants to find my book obsession I need to stop.

- One thing that I need the money for? North Carolina! (Go on and raise up!/Take your shirt off! Twist it 'round your head/ Spin it like a helicopter! Sorry, Petey Pablo moment...) I head there in a week to see some good friends and swim in the ocean! Yes! With that comes lots of guaranteed laughter (because Christy + Nate + Laurie = HILARIOUS!), lots of alcohol, many Kodak moments and probably a sunburn or two.

- On another travel-related note: I can't bring myself to do my independent study on my UK travels for the life of me. I think I'm a little overwhelmed by all the information and the implications that there might be from it. Luckily I spoke to Becky and she's feeling the same way so yay! Validation!

And now I'm off to cool myself in front of my fabulous air conditioner. Yum.

Ciao, dahling!

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design