A KiKi in London--Chapter 1 [ March 06, 2005, 8:10 pm ]

Mmmm, internet. How I've missed you.

Anyway...Greetings from London!

I made it to the United Kingdom safe and sound. THe flight over was fine--a bit bumpy in the parts where I was trying to sleep (go figure) but it was great. I love BA--I got a fantastic meal AND! Presents! In the form of socks and sleeping masks!! And they had personal TVs! It was awesome. I can deal with flying more often if all flights were through BA.

I'm absolutely in love with London. Every building is gorgeous, every person is beautiful--it may be because of the accents, but still. This is the best place I've ever visited, hands-down.

On Friday we didn't do much. Ryan and I tromped up and down Sussex Road for half an hour looking for our hotel. In the rain. It was kind of funny. All we could do was laugh. We found our hotel eventually.

The hotel? oh my LORD. So quaint. So cute. Our room is maybe twice the size of my bedroom--tops. It's tiny. And the bathroom? Wow. You can't really turn around in the shower, that's how small it is. I feel like I'm on a submarine when I'm in there. It's really quite funny. I'm not describing it nearly as hilariously as it is. Believe me, if you saw the place you'd collapse in laughter, much like we did. But still--it's nice. It's occupied by a lot of people our age, so we're hoping to make some friends that way.

I can't remember what we did Friday. I think we explored parts of Notting Hill and Kensington. We found a great bar called The Greyhound--we better be able to find it again or I'll be sad. THe drinks there were so yum. Friday night we conked out by 8 because we're losers like that. Or because jet lag totally kicked my ass--I was running on maybe 9 hours of sleep in the past 50 hours. It wasn't so fun.

Saturday morning we wandered Portobello Road. I can see why it's world famous. The atmosphere was absolutely amazing. There were people of all cultures there and vendors selling practically anything you could think of. I found a gorgeous teapot for my mom and some funky earrings and scarves for me. There was also great food there. I scarfed a chocolate croissant and took back some amazing seafood. Whoever said that British food is bland should be shot. So far all I've eaten is fab food.

The afternoon yesterday was spent in museums. So gorgeous. And fun. I'm really beginning to adore art, even if I was so adamentally opposed in NYC (that may have had a lot to do with the ex-roommate though, too). We also went to Harrods, but didn't stay long because of our hunger. Saturday night we went to a crowded pub and then a gay bar. Both were fun, but too clique-y for our tastes. Hopefully we can meet some fun/cute/new people tonight and the rest of this week.

Today we didn't wake up until 1 pm. Why, I don't know. Jet lag, I guess. We went to Greenwich and strattled the timeline there. That was fun. Then we found a pub and I drank draft Guiness. Let me tell you--if you haven't eaten all day and you're not a beer girl, 3/4 of a pint will definitely DEFINITELY give you a good buzz. THat made for a fun tube ride back. At least Ryan was entertained.

Tonight we're checking out a club in Picadelly Circus. That area is amazing at night. It should make for a lot of fun. And more good anecdotes.

Until next time (hopefully from London, again!)...

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy~*

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design