Soul Sister [ October 23, 2008, 12:12 am ]

Today is a very special day. For on this day 24 years ago I was given a very special gift: a baby sister.

Of course, for 18 years of my life I didn't think she was a gift. For the first couple of years I saw her as a threat to my uncontested crown as the Cutest Girl Ever and so to retaliate I did things like butter her head (true story) and convince her to pour cold soup over her head (also true). Once she discovered she had a mind of her own she sought revenge by chasing me around the house with yardsticks (resulting in the scar under my chin) and mercilessly teasing me until I pulled her hair at which point she would cry and then I'd get grounded.

Our teen years were wrought with full-out scream-fests about everything from who got the bigger room to who was prettier to who got more privaleges (I still think she got more than me, but I digress...). We were both discovering who we were and part of that process for the Petersen sisters was realizing that we hated. Each. Other.

It wasn't until I went away to college that our relationship began to bloom. She'd write me letters and send me small gifts. I'd regale her with college tales and give her advice.

My little sister has grown into one of the most incredible people that I know. She wears her heart on her sleeve and makes it look like the greatest fashion trend ever. She is far more eloquent and poetic than I could ever wish or hope to be and I fear she may beat me to our mutual goal of being published because she is that good of a writer. She isn't afraid to take chances and live life to the fullest by doing crazy things like dancing on bars and taking random road trips all for the sake of a good story. She will drop everything if anyone she loves needs her because of her fierce loyalty. (This is the girl that started a Facebook group for people to show their love and support to me after my incident. She did this maybe 24 hours after it happened.) She is energetic and fun-loving and incredibly intuitive.

She is the most beautiful person that I know, inside and out.

Happy birthday, my gorgeous sister. I love you so much!

Photobucket

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design