Get This Girl a Globe [ October 26, 2007, 4:34 pm ]

Mr. Holmstrom would be very disappointed in me.

Mr. Holmstrom was my strict yet passionate geography/history/economics teacher throughout high school. My first taste of the man was in 7th grade when he barked orders that we needed to do detailed reading notes on each of the three chapters we were covering for geography class. I didn't really like the man too much because of that. Because of the nights spent poring over texts finding the main and supporting ideas of each paragraph. Because my hand cramped more often than not detailing textbooks prescribed to me by him. Because I think I knew what an ulcer was before I reached the 9th grade due to his homework assignments and weekly tests.

But I digress.

At any rate, this teacher would be severely disappointed because of the epiphany I had on Wednesday: India is in Asia!

Hey! What a concept! India! It's on the continent of Asia!

And thus I was both relieved and stupefied for not realizing this. (This is what grad school has done to my brain, people--it's made me forget basic geography.) For some reason I thought that it wasn't and thus it was fucking up a project because I need to interview people from Asia for research. But India's in Asia! I have a vast amount if Indian people in my hall and at my disposal! They'd be perfect! And they're readily available! Rejoice! My project won't be crap! I will get the proper amount of interviews done! Wheee!

Thank you, India, for being where you are. In Asia. Thank God.

I really have to get myself an atlas. And some new braincells. But first I'll worry about the interviews I have to do. And the backlash I may receive from Mr. Holmstrom if he were to ever see this entry...

Ciao, dahling!

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design