So Hard to Say.... [ May 03, 2006, 12:01 am ]

"Why are you moving?"

"Krissy! You can't move!"

"You don't really have to go, do you?"

I have heard every variation on those phrases since I announced my move to Lansing three weeks ago. It's flattering and heart-warming, really! It is! But at the same time, every single time someone says "don't leeeeave, Krissyyyy" my heart melts a little and it becomes a little harder for me to kiss Marquette good-bye.

Tonight was my last night at S-mart. I know that this is only a stepping stone of a job, a way to make ends meet until I find a more, uh, career-minded job. But over the last eight months, I've gotten really close to many of my co-workers. S-mart employees are like siblings. We have a "we're all in this together" mentality. It helps us get through grueling shifts, cranky customers and late nights spent taking down signs and hunting down reshop. These shared adventures (coupled with unhealthy amounts of caffeine and healthy amounts of hourly laughter) have helped to bond me to many of my fellow team members.

Friday night a party was thrown. In my honor! And in honor of a good friend who had plans to move, as well. We spread the word and many promised on their mothers' graves that they'd show, but I remained skeptical. When I walked into the bowling alley I almost burst into tears. Almost every employee under the age of 30 showed up to party it up and give us a proper send-off. For the record? A proper S-mart send-off includes loads of liquor, many sex jokes, stacks of photos, a few pizzas, a couple of frames of bowling and many hugs.

The night was perfect.

And now I don't want to leave.

In four days I leave all of my friends. I say good-bye to the town that's seen a remarkable transition of a girl who came here an awkward high school senior to college grad who loves her dorky self.

It's not going to be easy.

But it is necessary.

It breaks my heart to say good-bye. I'm never good at good-byes. So instead I'll hug all of my friends, blow a kiss towards the rearview mirror and say "until we meet again" to everyone I know. Because it won't be good-bye. I have too much love in this area for it to be final.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design