The Fun Factor [ September 14, 2007, 9:43 pm ]

It usually involves caffeine. And/or a couple of loved ones. It always involves a lot of laughing. Usually until I'm clutching my stomach because it's spasming from giggling too much.

Fun is something that I love.

(OK, so I'm pretty sure that everyone enjoys it, but so do I and that's my point here. Now shut up and listen.)

I love that I can find enjoyment/fun in nearly anything. A fresh chai latte brings a grin to my face. A baby riding in a stroller makes a face at me and it sends me into a fit of giggles. An inside joke or dumb comment from a friend can make me scream with laughter for a good ten minute time span.

And it seems that as I get older, the simpler things seem to get. I used to need four-inch heels, a pint of vodka, an entourage of friends and eardrum-shaking music to have fun. While the occasional girls night out still holds a dear place in my heart, I'm not signing up for Sorority Mixer Saturdays.

Now, a fun evening for me involves a good book and some good tea. Or pizza, The Office and The Boy. Or a chick flick, wine and good friends. Or even just me and my bed. Sometimes the best fun this girl can have involves sleeping because Lord knows I can use it lately.

Since returning to school, my ideas have shifted a little. I think I have a better appreciation for everything in my life because I realize that I am truly blessed. And because I don't have as much time to enjoy a great story or girls night because now I have things like APA-style Issue Papers and staff development training ideas to think up. It's not a bad thing that I'm so busy. On the contrary, I'm really happy to be back on a bustling campus. It gives me an opportunity to hone my time management skills (and trust me--they need honing). It gives me a chance to reflect and prioritize. Because of this I know what's important and that's makes me happier than I've been in a long time. And I'm happy, I'm having fun. So it all works out.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design