Crisp (and Tasty) Prophecy [ February 11, 2006, 12:14 am ]

Chinese food may very well be the best food ever invented. At least in my book. One can't help but love a meal that ends with a prophecy from a sugary confection, no?

Katie D. and I apparently ordered so much food that the restaurant thought there were four people eating it all instead of two, so we got four fortune cookies. I thought it was a good deal; I can't get enough of them. They're crispy and sweet and they have little tidbits of wisdom. Plus you can find your lotto numbers and learn a bit of chinese with it. It's a dessert of all trades, really.

I cracked open the first one and tugged the slip from the cookie. Since I'm slightly (or, uh, a lot) superstitious, I tend to think of the fortunes as little horoscopes or forecasts for what life may bring my way.

"Prepare for a big change in your personal life."

I squealed and waved it around. Katie looked at me like I was drunk. (Which I kind of was, but that isn't the point.) "It's a fortune cookie--not a big deal." She was just jealous that something good (or at least intriguing) was predicted for me--her fortune had something to do with nature or school or something dumb like that.

A bit later, I cracked open the second cookie and urged the slip from its sugary shell. Tell me of my future, oh cookie...

"Prepare for a big change in your personal life."

Said once, I could pass off as a silly fortune. Twice? My superstitious mind thinks that my life might be turning a corner or a page or starting a new chapter or insert new life analogy here. I find it kind of funny that this episode occurred after I was bawling on the phone to a friend about how I need something to just occur in my life.

So there'll be some change in my life, huh? I can't wait.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design