Let's Go To the Movies [ September 21, 2005, 1:30 pm ]

It's no secret that I'm addicted to going to the movies. I love planning a night out with my friends--figuring out times, dates, etc; gathering, giggling in the theater and then gossiping about how good or bad the movie was after the credits have started to roll.

The movie gods have decided to bless me, for there is (for lack of a better word) a shitload of movies that I want to see this fall.

Proof: This looks like a good thinking/feeling movie. Usually Gwyneth Paltrow does quality movies; I haven't seen one of hers that I haven't liked yet, so this has to at least be worth the $6 ticket. Plus Jake Gyllenhaal is in it. I'd watch him lick sandpaper for two hours.

Corpse Bride: My friends have been excited about this movie for a good year (aHEM, Brett!). I joined in the excitement after seeing the first trailer. It looks like a lot of fun. And like it could be the perfect fall/Halloween movie. (FYI, friends: There are plans in motion for a BYOB showing next Tuesday night. Mark your calendars, mmmk?)

A History of Violence: This movie intrigues me. The trailer makes it look really good. I want to know if Viggo's character has a secret past or if it's a case of mistaken identity. Another good thinking movie. But it may be one that I could wait for until it comes out on DVD.

Serenity: Again, this is a movie that a couple of close friends are wetting themselves over. But it's created by Joss Whedon; I could probably get behind anything he's done if I gave it a chance. The trailer cracks me up, too, so I'd gladly be dragged along to this movie.

Elizabethtown: First of all--it's good to see Orlando doing a movie that's set in modern times. None of that fake world/old world stuff for once, thank GOD. This is being touted as the next Garden State. I could deal with that. I just need a good movie where I can laugh and cry and think. Because it's been a while. And I'm hoping that this is it.

Wallace and Gromit: The Curce of the Were-Rabbit: I've adored Wallace and Gromit since Emily showed me the cartoon shorts back in middle school. It's about time that the US is introduced to this charming British pair!

The Legend of Zorro: Antonio Banderas. With a sword. Looking broody. I am SO there.

Shopgirl: This is one of my favorite books ever. I try to read it at least once or twice a year. When I found out it was being made into a movie I orgasmed. Seriously. It's THAT good, in my opinion. While I didn't think that Steve Martin would play the "older guy", (I think I pictured someone like Dan Ackroyd or Harrison Ford in the role), after viewing the trailer (and nearly orgasming), I think it's a good choice. Especially since he wrote the book. I admire Steve Martin a lot. And I'm anticipating this movie SO much. And I'm PISSED that it's being released slowly (starting in October), which means I'll only get to see it if I travel to Detroit...unless I want to wait for it to come here, which means that by Christmas time I might get lucky. UGH.

In her Shoes: Chick flick night! Jennifer Weiner is a highly under-rated writer, so I'm excited that one of her novels is a movie. Girls night out, anyone? (Amanda!! I still need to borrow this book from you!)

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire: Arguably, this is the best book in the series. It's definitely the most action-packed; the development of the plot and the characters is impressive. I was excited for the third HP movie and loved that, but I can barely contain myself with this one--mainly because Em and Katie D constantly update me with what's been going on with the production of this. If the trailers are any indication, my friends and I are going to wet ourselves in more ways than one. I canNOT wait.

RENT: THIS is the movie that I've been following the production of for a year. I've read different versions of the script, followed the gossip and rumors, read the cast blog and basically stalked this movie because I adore the musical SO much. It's going to be amazing. And I'm dragging everyone to see it. And everyone will like it. I swear. RENT!!!

I'm going to be one broke but happy chica this fall. Heck yes!

Ciao, dahling!

~Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design