Boxed Up [ June 04, 2009, 2:37 pm ]

56 boxes of various sizes lay stacked haphazardly around my apartment...

15 huge bags of trash have been evicted from my place, proving that I am more of a clutterbug than I thought (at least 3 were from my desk alone--ugh)...

1 U-haul is parked in the lot, awaiting my friend's arrival so we can begin to haul heavy furniture and lots of boxes into it...

1 friend awaits on the south side of town, graciously allowing me to store all my crap in her garage and crash with her for a month (I owe her BIG TIME--I LOVE YOU, CC!!!)...

...and this girl is about to enter a purgatory of sorts, unsure about this transitionary period of her life which will last until she heads to Minnesota. So many questions need to be answered in this time--how am I getting all my stuff there? How am I going to fund this? Is a newer car going to be a part of this plan (please, PLEASE GOD)? Can two good friends cohabitate peacefully when neither has had a roommate in years? Can I go days at a time without the internet?!?

This is a grey area in my life. I'm grateful that it's only for a month or so, but still--it's scary and a little daunting. I need to figure out the details of my move up north. To say that I'm nervous about how this will pan out is an understatement. I need to trust that it will all work out, but it's really hard, especially as I survey my apartment all boxed up and it suddenly hits me that this is for real, this is the end of a big stage of my life. I'm so excited for the next chapter to begin, but the last few pages of this chapter will probably be filled with frustration and a few moments of writer's block.

For now all I can do is breathe, say a quick prayer, hope for the best and take it one step at a time. Because in fifteen minutes this girl will be hauling a very heavy couch down a long hall and we all know how I get when I have to lift anything heavier than a shopping bag. At the very least I am secure in the fact that I am blessed and these are good problems to have. Big, boxy problems, but still--I can't complain too much. Though lifting stuff is not my forte'.

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design