Bookin' It [ January 19, 2008, 6:56 pm ]

I did something today that I don't think I've ever done before: I walked out of a bookstore without purchasing a. Single. Item.

This doesn't happen! I have an undying love of books, particularly of the self-help and/or nonfiction persuasions. To walk out of a bookstore without a bag in hand was surprising. And yet, I felt proud of myself. I was proud of the fact that I wasn't spending unnecessary money or cluttering my bookshelf with something that may just sit there for months before I have a chance to open it. I'm proud of my minimalistic mantra that told me that I don't need anything. I'm proud of that moment, where I just wandered the store, tea in hand, people-watching and casually leafing through any book that caught my eye, just wholly enjoying myself.

I made a promise to myself at the beginning of this year. I want to step outside of my comfort zone; I want to challenge myself to try things I've never tried. Walking out of the bookstore might not seem like a big deal to many people, but to me it is. To me, purchasing a book is a big deal, a present to myself, something I convince myself that I can't live without even though I totally can. By not buying it, I've taken one step towards showing myself that I don't need material things to make me happy. Intead, just the act of being in the store made me happy.

I think this food for thought will last a lot longer than any novel would. Good to know.

Ciao, dahling!

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design