Body Lovin' [ April 02, 2008, 11:28 pm ]

I realize that I don't have the perfect body. My boobs are small, my hips are wide and more than one woman has mistaken my poochy belly for a pregnant womb.

That being said...

The other morning I was rushing around packing and getting my shit together to fly to Atlanta. I had half an hour, I was half dressed and I was shoving clothes in my suitcase. Shirts were coming off the hangers, hangers were flying at me, I was grabbing at accessories. As I turned to grab a scarf, I caught a glimpse of myself in my full-length mirror. And what I saw looked good. Instead of seeing the bitty titties or baby-bearing belly, I saw all of me. I saw shapely calves that support my body and help me rock out heels. I saw a straight back that keeps me going and reminds me to keep good posture as I pound out zillions of emails. I saw a womanly body and a content face. I saw the glow in my eyes that comes from being in love, feeling excited and essentially loving my life. I stopped what I was doing for a second and sucked in my breath.

"Damn. I look good!"

When the bathroom door that held the mirror swung open, John emerged he gave me a grin. "You always do, baby."*

I realize that I don't have a perfect life or perfect body. What I do have is a body that helps me celebrate life and everything in this world. I am blessed in many ways. Sometimes it just takes a moment of serenity during a chaotic morning to remind me of that.

Ciao, dahling!

*Writer's note: I realize I don't need this paragraph because it really adds nothing to this essay. But John is adorable and he showers me in compliments and loooves me. So I wanted to keep it in. For he is adorable and so is that moment.

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design