Bittersweet Symphany [ August 13, 2006, 9:42 pm ]

It's amazing how you could be doing something harmless like surfing Facebook or perusing the selections for Sunday night cable and then BAM! Suddenly you're homesick.

And by "you" I mean me. I. Am. Homesick. A lot.

It's not so much that I miss the U.P. I mean, I do. But I really just miss my friends from college. The ones who I could just sit around watching stupid movies with or grab Border Grill with. The ones who taught me how to play flippy cup and taught me how to be a "playa" (even though those lessons were not so successful). The friends who knew what I was thinking with just a raise of one eyebrow or by me twisting my ring (a nervous habit). The friends who just truly got me. It's so rare to find that, but yet I did, time and again in at least a half dozen amazing, loyal, funny and fabulous people throughout my college career. I am so blessed to have found and befriended them. But now we're separated by time zones and statelines and bodies of water.

While I adore the life I'm living now in an urban-esque area, I wish sometimes that I could share it with those that helped me to get here through encouragement and daring and support and laughter.

I didn't mean for this to sound like a ninety-nine cent greeting card. I was going to make a list of everything I missed about the U.P. and N.M.U. But what the list ultimately consists of are my friends: Emily and Joe and Christy and Laurie and the Katies and Amanda and all of my VA people and the list goes on and on. I'm in the the middle of a bittersweet moment. I'll revel in it. And maybe get through it with a few phone calls and instant messenger conversations. And by "few" I mean a lot. A lot.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design