I Wanna LaLa [ March 28, 2006, 1:12 am ]

The box was big and white. The words beckoned and blared. I must. Must. Enter. To. Win. Tickets.

I was drunk. So were the rest of my friends. It was after two in the morning on Saint Patricks Day. We were waiting to get a table at the local twenty-four hour diner. Christy and I saw the box. It tempted us to enter to win tickets to see Ashlee Simpson of "Ashlee Simpson MTV show and radio fame!!!"

"We should do it! HAHA!" Christy picked up a slip and started scrawling her name.

"Oh we. Will. WIN!" I fished a pen out of my purse and sketched my information on another slip, then ceremoniously dropped it into the big white box.

Later that week, Christy and I were driving around and a commercial for her concert came on the radio. We both laughed. "We're SO THERE! Those tickets are OURS!" I wanted to beat out the teeny-boppers.

It would rock to win. I never win anything. Besides--I liked her music. I dance around to "L.O.V.E." on a daily basis because it's on one of my newest mixes. I'm a fan. Not enough to buy tickets to see her, but still--a fan nevertheless. I didn't think I would though. I never win anything. After hearing the commercial, I forgot about it.

Then I checked my voicemails this morning. Usually I'm thrilled to find out if one person called me that morning. Today I had three (glee!): a friend, my mom and someone who sounded like a dim-witted hick.

"Hello, I'm calling for Kristine. I'm from the diner and we pulled your name for the tickets for the Ashlee Simpson concert if you could come and claim them sometime today that would be great. Mmmmbye."

It was a joke. It had to be. The guy sounded like too much of a hick. It was a friend playing a joke. Very funny, Christy.

I called the diner. "Hi, I'm Krissy. I won tickets...is that true? It's a joke right? I never win."

The guy on the phone laughed. It wasn't the hick-sounding guy. "No, we have your tickets right here."

Tomorrow night. Green Bay. Me and Christy. LaLa-ing the night away. The luck of the Irish was certainly with me that night I entered.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design