I know this may make me seem crazy-like, but... [ January 05, 2005, 6:56 pm ]

While watching the news, it occurred to me that it very well could be the beginning of the end. Of the world, that is.

First, there's the tsunami. Huge tragedy. Incomprehensible to anyone in the Western World, maybe. I feel so bad for the victims. They've been through a lot in the past week and a half. And they're going to have to deal with a lot more, psychologically. Every time I see footage, I feel so helpless. I wish had had millions to donate. I wish I could jet over there and help somehow. Though, it does make me happy to hear how many people are donating money and doing what they can to help out. Humanity can be an amazing thing.

But there are 150,000 dead. And more missing. This could be the first sign of the apocalypse. And I wouldn't have thought that even if I hadn't watched the damn news.

There were reports of swindling non-profit organizations and robbers in the Indonesian areas. And others about people kidnapping the child survivors to sell them as sex slaves. That? That's sick.

And another maybe sign? The god-awful weather here in the US. It's fucking COLD here. As well as in the rest of America. Not to mention snow and ice and rain. Ugh. This kind of weather is rare--says another news report. It sucks. The cold can go away any time. (Haha! Wishful thinking for a yooper in the US Tundra, but oh well.)

The conclusion I can draw from the above-mentioned? The world could be ending. Or...I just need to stop watching the fucking news. Gaah.

And now, because this entry is too serious, I present....

More You Know You Could Only Be in the UP When...

- you go to Walmart and you see a woman wearing fur boots. Not just any fur boots, though--they look like they were taken directly from the feet of a bear. Bear boots. I can't make this up.

- you hear "Afternoon Delight" on the radio. And it followed "Lala" by Ashlee Simpson. And it's not for the sake of being kitzy either. It's for real.

- a mulleted man buys a car without looking at it. My sister was selling a beater and she put an ad in the paper. A day later, a mulleted man comes over, sees the car (doesn't really check it out, just sees it) and hands the money over to Katy. Who does that? But--a mullet!!! I was in heaven! Wooo!

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design