I Miss Footie PJs [ November 01, 2006, 2:41 pm ]

When I was young, one of my favorite books was Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No-good, Very Bad Day. It was about a boy whose day wasn't quite the enchanting event that he wanted it to be. He got gum in his hair, his favorite shirt was dirty, his favorite sugary cereal was eaten by his evil siblings and he had to wear footie pajamas to bed.

Alexander, I can relate.

While I haven't (thankfully) gotten gum in my hair or run out of my beloved Lucky Charms, my day hasn't been quite so enchanting either.

A cold may be coming on, prompted by one too many late nights and a teensy lack of sleep. Working when you feel like a duck is stuffed up your nose isn't the greatest feeling in the world. But it's manageable.

What isn't quite so manageable is when things fall through with projects I've been truly invested in. My job is fantastic--I enjoy what I do and I'm challenged to be the best I can be. Sometimes the challenges get the best of me, though. And then my day turns all Alexander-like.

In a way, I'm grateful, though. Sometimes we need reminders that life isn't always a box of chocolates. Or if it is, that some days are that nasty nugget that nobody is too fond of. Either way, sometimes reminders are needed, as good old Alex and I both know.

Unlike Alexander I won't sulk my way through my terrible, horrible, no-good, very bad day. Instead I'll grab a bite of chocolate and think of the good things in life: how I'm rocking the red lipstick and sex-kittenish hair, that it's a Lost night and the fun that was had at a Halloween party with some special and fabulous friends last night. That's what really matters. And if I'm lucky maybe my day will end like his did--with a warm bubble bath and a good story.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design