And the age-old question rages again... [ July 21, 2005, 5:00 pm ]

This has been written about billions of times; hell, it's been written about at least on a dozen different occasions by me. But it begs to be brought up again as I just came from a conversation with a close friend.

The question is: what the fuck do guys want?

Or, really, a better question for my friends and I is: why don't guys have any spine?

My friend is in a bit of despair because a guy she's crushing on isn't doing anything. We all think he likes her. And she likes him. The hard part should be out of the way, no? Instead, she finds herself in a bit of limbo because he seems to prefer sitting on his ass to spending time with a fabulous girl. The hell?!?

So then the question arises--is it us? Or is it guys? The wounded part of girls will always shout out that it's guys; that they're stupid and lazy and don't care. And that may be true. But, then again, there are two sides to every tale. It can't just be male-kind.

Can it?

I'm not saying that girls are flawless. Because we're not. Me, for example--I'm brash, I talk too much, I wear egg on my face daily. We all have our faults. It's a given. But while we're all imperfect, I happen to think that the lot of us are fantastic people who deserve to have great love. I don't think that's asking for too much.

And yet, my friends and I (and probably the majority of girl-kind) find ourselves despairing because we cannot find a decent guy who's willing to put his pride on the line and ask us out.

And, yes, I don't have spine. I have yet to give a crush my phone number or clue a guy in as to how I'm feeling. But I flirt, I laugh, I try to be witty--and so do my friends. Perhaps we're ultimately the clueless ones because we can't figure out what's wrong.

For once, we (all girl-kind...or at least my friends and i) would like to be swept off of our feet. Or at least asked to dinner. We're not looking for happily ever after--we just want a decent time with a decent guy. I don't think that's asking too much.

The games between men and women will continue to rage for, well, probably forever. Until then, I'll keep my fingers crossed that I can find a date. Or at least grow some spine of my own because from the looks of it, I'll need it.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design